A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Overture op. 21

A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Overture op. 21

Germany — 1826

A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Overture op. 21

MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn b. 5, fol. 7-12 — Mendelssohn Aut. 32, Inw.nr 6922 Bodleian Library (Oxford, United Kingdom)|Biblioteka Jagiellońska (Cracow, Poland)
  1. Description
  2. Facsimile Editions (1)
A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Overture op. 21

Among the overtures by the great 19th century composer Felix Mendelssohn, A Midsummer Night’s Dream is undoubtedly the most popular while simultaneously being one of his first and last compositions – Mendelssohn wrote Op. 21 in 1826 at the start of his career and wrote incidental music for the play by William Shakespeare in 1842 only a few years before his death at the age of 38. This composition full of dreamy imagery and floating elves is evidence of an idyllic summer that the 17-year-old composer spent at his family’s summer house with his siblings. The original manuscript of the work, written in Mendelssohn’s own delicate hand, offers an immediate textual witness to the creation process of one of the 19th century’s most beloved pieces of music.


Alternative Titles
Ein Sommernachtstraum - Ouvertüre op. 21
Artist / School

Available facsimile editions:
Bärenreiter-Verlag – Kassel, 2009
Facsimile Editions

#1 Ein Sommernachtstraum op. 21

Bärenreiter-Verlag – Kassel, 2009

Publisher: Bärenreiter-Verlag – Kassel, 2009
Commentary: 1 volume by Friedhelm Krummacher
Languages: English, German, Japanese
1 volume: This facsimile is not complete. Reproduction of the entire original document as detailed as possible (scope, format, colors). The pages are represented on a larger white background. The binding may not correspond to the original or current document binding.
You might also be interested in:
Tristan and Isolde WWV 90
Tristan and Isolde WWV 90

A testimony to the beginning of modern music: a new musical era began with the premiere of Wagner's famous opera in 1865

Experience More
Symphony no. 9 D minor op. 125 by Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony no. 9 D minor op. 125 by Ludwig van Beethoven
Vienna (Austria) – 1824

One of the greatest achievements in the history of Western music: Beethoven's magnum opus and the anthem of the European Union today

Experience More
Blog articles worth reading
Filter selection