Salamanca Armorial - Steve Tamborino

Salamanca Armorial - Steve Tamborino

Spain — 16th century

From the King’s drummer: one of the most beautiful and groundbreaking works of 16th century Spanish heraldry

  1. This codex counts among the most beautiful and groundbreaking works of 16th century Spanish heraldry

  2. Coats of arms, banners, shields, and other insignia are complimented by geographical studies

  3. Tamborino, the author, was a drummer in the guard of King John II (1398–1479) and Ferdinand II of Aragon (1452–1516)

Salamanca Armorial - Steve Tamborino

  1. Description
  2. Facsimile Editions (1)
Description
Salamanca Armorial - Steve Tamborino

The so-called Salamanca Armorial counts among the most beautiful and groundbreaking works of 16th century Spanish heraldry. The author of the exceptionally rich, qualitatively-designed armorial was Steve Tamborino, a drummer in the guard of King John II of Aragon and Ferdinand II. Steve Tamborino’s armorial unites countless depictions of escutcheons with historically interesting records, e.g. the Christian kings, the geographic characteristics of the kingdoms, and reports of combat operations. As a “jewel among Spanish armorials”, it enchants to this day with its unmediated glimpse into the heraldry of 16th century Spain.

Salamanca Armorial - Steve Tamborino

The so-called Salamanca Armorialcounts among the most beautiful and groundbreaking works of 16th century Spanish heraldry. The author of the exceptionally rich, qualitatively-designed armorial was Steve Tamborino, a drummer in the guard of King John II of Aragon and Ferdinand II. Steve Tamborino’s armorial unites countless depictions of escutcheons with historically interesting records, e.g. the Christian kings, the geographic characteristics of the kingdoms, and reports of combat operations. As a “jewel among Spanish armorials”, it enchants to this day with its unmediated glimpse into the heraldry of 16th century Spain.

The Grand Period of Catalonian Armorials

The Salamanca Armorial stands in the tradition of Garcia Alonso de Torres. He was employed at the Catalonian court since the end of the 15th century as the rey de armas (a post consisting of the granting of arms and noble titles) and composed famous armorials at the beginning of the 17th century. With these gorgeous testimonials of Spanish heraldry, he served as an example for many later composers of armorials. One of them was Steve Tamborino or Tamburini. As a drummer in the guard of King John II of Aragon, Sardinia, and Navarre (1397/8–1479) and Ferdinand II (1452–1516), named the Catholic, Tamborino found access to all of the important information for his great work. He concerned himself principally with noble titles, coats of arms, and recent Spanish history.

Heraldic Motifs in Overabundance

Thus, the Salamanca Armorial not only contained pages full of heraldry with accompanying detailed descriptions. Countless brightly-colored coats of arms, banners, shields, and other heraldic insignia adorned with crowns, fish, feathers, and further heraldic motifs with biblical, antique, and medieval origins overrun the pages of the high-quality armorial. Steve Tamborino completed his heraldic overview with geographical studies of the southern territories of Carlos I: Catalonia, Aragon, Valencia, Castile, Naples, and Sicily. Additionally, the armorial listed a few extremely interesting historical explanations, e.g. of combat operations and battlefields or of the Christian kings. With this comprehensive overview, the Salamanca Armorial is considered to be the most detailed work of Spanish heraldry in late 15th and early 16th centuries.

A True Jewel for Fans of Heraldry and Illumination

The exceptional value of the richly illustrated manuscript has been recognized by successive historians, book lovers, and collectors. Thus, the precious armorial found itself in the possession of the Spanish Dominican, theologian, and docent at the Universities of Burgos and Seville, Christoval de Torres. Steve Tamborino presents himself as an important chronicler of 15th and 16th century Spanish history with his exceptional work. To this day, his armorial offers a wonderful glimpse into this very exciting epoch and at the same time, the opportunity to intensely grapple with the Spanish heraldry of the late–15th and early–16th centuries.

Codicology

Alternative Titles
Armorial de Salamanca (de Steve Tamborino)
Wappenbuch von Salamanca - Steve Tamborino
Origin
Spain
Date
16th century
Language
Artist / School
Previous Owners
Christoval de Torres
Agustin de Torres
Colegio Mayor in Cuenca
Royal Library (Real Biblioteca) in Madrid

Available facsimile editions:
Salamanca Armorial - Steve Tamborino – Ms. 2490 – Universidad de Salamanca (Salamanca, Spain)
Scriptorium – Valencia, 1996
Limited Edition: 350 copies
Facsimile Editions

#1 Armorial de Salamanca (Steve Tamborino)

Scriptorium – Valencia, 1996

Publisher: Scriptorium – Valencia, 1996
Limited Edition: 350 copies
Binding: Leather with two gilt clasps und gilt gold fittings
Commentary: 1 volume by Martín de Riquer
1 volume: Exact reproduction of the original document (extent, color and size) Reproduction of the entire original document as detailed as possible (scope, format, colors). The binding may not correspond to the original or current document binding.
Price Category: €€€ (3,000€ - 7,000€)
Edition available
Price: Login here!
You might also be interested in:
Chronicle of the World and History of Charlemagne
Chronicle of the World and History of Charlemagne
Lake Constance (Germany) – Ca. 1250

A chronicle from Genesis to Charlemagne: court life in the 13th century depicted in full-page miniatures

Experience More
Chronicles of Lucca by Giovanni Sercambi
Chronicles of Lucca by Giovanni Sercambi
Lucca (Italy) – 1368–1424

Pictures from Tuscany in the Middle Ages: 651 detailed miniatures on the eventful history of Lucca

Experience More
Blog articles worth reading
Filter selection
Publisher